Don’t worry about my neighbours or the headlines in the papers

Here in the UK there is a lot of unrest this morning after the result of the EU referendum, however whatever the outcome, we know that God’s plan for us personally is already written, there is no need for fear or anxiety simply trust in our God that whatever decisions are made here on earth by man that our God never changes and will continue to provide.  Reminds me of this verse from the poem “The Gate of the Year” by Minnie Louise Haskins (1875-1957)

And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year:

“Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.”

And he replied:

“Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the Hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.” So I went forth, and finding the Hand of God, trod gladly into the night. And He led me towards the hills and the breaking of day in the lone East.”

I know from the Bible that God’s plans are great and all I need to do is trust him.

  • Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.
  • Proverbs 3:5-6 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.
  • Ecclesiastes 3:1-22 – for everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; …
  • Isaiah 58:11 – And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail

IN YOUR HANDS

God I’m going to put it out there, I don’t care what this life throws at me cos I am completely in your hands, I may not know the plans you have for me but you’ve made it clear that your plans are for my welfare, my future, I don’t need to be up with the movers and shakers, I don’t have to worry about my neighbours or all the headlines in the papers, cos you guide me constantly, you satisfy my every need, and like a seed you tend me as I grow, you never let me go, so in this new season I have no reason to worry as I trust in you to light my path and lead my way, today is a new day, a day to spend in trust and devotion knowing that I was chosen by a God who loves me, who will never leave me nor forsake me.

Leave a comment