He kissed goodbye to his freedom and left his Father’s Kingdom

Occasionally I find my new lifestyle hard. Whilst I still house share with my partner, our relationship has changed to that of two best friends.  There is a closeness that I miss, the closeness that comes from being in an intimate relationship with another human.

But, when I feel that way I can remind myself of the great love God has for me:

1 John 3:1 – See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!

Love is a decision, a laying down of our ‘life’.  My choice to follow and love God was a conscious decision that I took knowing that I would have to give up my relationship and make changes to my lifestyle.  It has been a gradual change in many ways and when I look back at how far I have come I can only give praise to God for his grace, support and love.  I am blessed that God forgives all sins, I am blessed that he can use me and I am blessed that he loves me and chose me to be his daughter.

Choosing to love God with all our hearts, minds and souls may require sacrifices.  But when you think of the sacrifice Jesus made for us, surely ours pale into insignificance?

OFFER UP YOUR LIFE

Jesus offered up his life for me, he kissed goodbye to his freedom and left his Father’s Kingdom, three days he was in the grave to save me, and to this day I don’t know what he had to endure, but I am sure that if he hadn’t died on the cross I would still be lost, so what cost for me?  See when the enemy taunts me and tells me what I’m missing, I’m able to tell him with confidence, look at the great love my Father has lavished on me, look at his sacrifice that set me free, look at all I stand to gain, eternity free from death and pain, eternity reigning with God on high so goodbye Satan with your taunts and lies, I am lavished with the love of my Father, I am filled with His love, I am a child of God, thanking God for his grace and favour, praising God for Jesus our redeeming Saviour.

Leave a Reply

