I will make you a part of the promised land

My Bible readings this week have all been from Isaiah and have been really inspiring me as I hear from God about listening, paying attention and being alert. I have been meditating on Isaiah 51 in terms of prayer and God’s word is so helpful in many ways.

I particularly love this verse;

Isaiah 51:16 – I have put my words in your mouth and covered you with the shadow of my hand– I who set the heavens in place, who laid the foundations of the earth, and who say to Zion, ‘You are my people.'”

We need fear nothing because God has us in his shadow, in his protection.  We need not worry about what to say or pray because God has put the words in our mouths already, remember too that he knows what we are going to say before we even say it.

YOU ARE MINE

You are my people and I will protect you, one day you will be permanently in my presence, where tears will be no more, laughter and joy will fill the air, when I build the new Jerusalem my people will be with me in peace and safety, but until that day believe that I am with you, my rod and staff they comfort you, I have covered you with the shadow of my Hand, I, who put the heavens in their place, who established the foundations of the earth, who has all the nations in my sight, I hold you tight, I give you the right words to say whether it’s when you pray or as you stand as witnesses to my righteousness, open your mouth and I will speak, my words bringing life to each situation you are in, my words helping others to turn from their sin, and just as you have let me into your heart, I will make you a part of the promised land, my thoughts towards you more numerous than the sand, as you stand up for me, I will honour you, as you pick up your cross and follow me, I will part the sea for you, move mountains if you ask me to, I will draw close to you, fear nothing, do not be afraid for you my child are no longer a slave.

Leave a Reply

