With a thankful heart I will praise

I met for a prayer meeting the other night with three women who have been Christians for a long time (not sure how long but between them I’m sure they’ve clocked up a lot of prayer miles!)  What struck me was how the prayer immediately went in to praise and adoration.  And not just a couple of minutes but a concentrated time of telling God how amazing he is, of thanking him for his love, of adoring him and it was amazing.  I realised how often I spend a brief bit of time praising before launching into my prayer, when actually, it was so good to spend time just worshiping and adoring God.

Psalm 150 – Praise the Lord. Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens. Praise him for his acts of power; praise him for his surpassing greatness. Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet, praise him with the harp and lyre, praise him with timbrel and dancing, praise him with the strings and pipe, praise him with the clash of cymbals, praise him with resounding cymbals. Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord

I WILL PRAISE

With all my heart I will praise you Lord, with a thankful heart I will praise, with a song, with shouts of celebration, I will praise you in the highest heaven, you are my strength and my salvation, you are MY God and I will praise you, majestic in holiness, full of loving kindness, eternal Father and Prince of Peace, blessed be your name from everlasting to everlasting,  this is my offering of praise and one thing only do I ask, that I may gaze on your beauty as I live in your courts for ever, for you are indeed a good, good Father, I will be glad and exult you, I will worship with reverence and rejoice with trembling, I will tell of your name to all who will listen, bless the Lord oh my soul, bless his holy name, Lord open my lips so I may declare your praise, for you are my hope, my confidence, you have sustained me from my birth, you alone are worthy of praise, all the earth break forth and sing for joy, enter his courts with thanksgiving, enter his courts with praise, bless the Lord oh my soul and all that is within me bless your holy name, from the rising of the sun to the going down of the same, I will praise, I will praise, I will praise.

Leave a Reply

