Passing control to my heavenly Father

Continuing to read Proverbs I was reminded of a couple of verses from Deuteronomy, about the importance of holding on to God’s teaching, of fixing God’s word in our hearts and minds and never swaying from them.

  • Proverbs 4:13 – Hold firmly to my teaching and never let go. It will mean life for you.
  • Deuteronomy 6:8 – Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.
  • Deuteronomy 11:18 – Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads

As I was talking to the Lord just now, these verses were on my mind and I was asking God, why did Jesus not definitively say that some things were sin, why was it left ambiguous?  Often in this modern era you will hear people questioning, well Jesus never said it so it cannot be a sin.  Yet we know from reading the whole word of God that there are sins that Jesus never addressed directly, for example homosexuality.

I felt like God told me this:

If everything was clear cut, some would never seek me.  I want people to seek me with all their heart, mind and soul.  Only when they seek me with all their heart will they find me, but if they are put off seeking straight away because they see it as too big a sacrifice to turn from their sin they will never find me.

Jeremiah 29:13 – You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart

The Bible does teach us the way in every situation.  Unless we spend time in the word, learning the word and understanding the word we will not find God.  It takes a constant and determined focus to sort the wheat from the chaff in order to follow God’s narrow path to salvation.  But oh, what a glorious day, the day we meet with God, understanding his calls for obedience and throw ourselves at his feet to receive his forgiveness.

YOUR WORD

Father God I want to know your word inside out and upside down, I want to drown in the words, drench in the wisdom, to be overpowered by the knowledge, to be astonished by your covenants, blown away by the evidence of your love for humanity, to be blessed by your guidance for victory over the power of darkness that seeks to ensnare me, I want to be free to read, to absorb the meanings, glean glimpses of your perfect love for me, understand your laws and the need for obedience, to build up resilience to fight the battles, to be dazzled by your outrageous love, blown away by your planning, to be outstanding in how I serve, to learn how to treat others as they deserve, I want to use it as a tool to get close to you, seeking you with my heart, mind and soul, passing control of my life to my heavenly Father, to use it oh Lord to make me stronger, as I hold on to your word may I never let go, my shield and defender let me bask in your splendour as your tender love surrounds me, may your words in my heart be the words that define me.

Leave a Reply

