God’s in for the long haul

I just received a copy of Colin Urquhart’s book, ..My Dear Child..” in the post and have been unable to put it down for the past twenty minutes.  The best way to describe it is as a series of notes or letters from God to me.  When I say me, I really mean it, these are personal and these are eye opening words from God who knows me inside out.  I can’t wait to read more, I figure this book is going to be one of those I will read over and over again.

One of the letters talks about how God watches over us.  Personally, this reads as “I have seen you through all the things in your past, so trust me that I will see you through this and things that happen in your future”.

God wants us to remember how faithful he is, how true he is to his word.  Looking back at how he has saved us, how he has forgiven us should give us immense strength and trust in his desire to continue to hold us tight and see us through each and every trial.

Joshua 1:9 – Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

BE ENCOURAGED

Be encouraged, you see God is with you even when you cannot see him, even when you’re not feeling it he’s still there by your side and he’s not just there for the ride, when God says he will never leave you or forsake you, make no mistake, he’s not jumping in and out of your life, he’s not there for the good bits and missing for the strife, he’s in for the long haul, in for it all, the good, the bad and the ugly, when things are good and when things are messy, when you’re rejoicing and when you’re stressing, God is with us, think about all that he has done, all the times he’s held your hand, wiped your tears, all the times he’s stilled your fears, all the times you didn’t even acknowledge his existence yet with persistence he followed you, with determination he never gave up on you, with love he transformed you, and has he not commanded you, be strong, be courageous, don’t worry or be discouraged, so be encouraged in every situation, be blessed as you receive love from the author of creation, trust that he never turns his face away, trust that he stays close and trust what he says.

Leave a Reply

