Throughout life deceitful people will try and suck you in

I have been battling with my thoughts this past week as people close to me have questioned my stand on homosexuality.  I have felt exposed, belittled and marginalised, yet I will not give up.  I believe God has a call on my life and I will not allow Satan to stop me from speaking out because of their criticism.  OK, so I feel that they are not validating me and my choice, but does that really matter when God validates me and God asks me to “pick up my Cross and follow him?”

I have a couple of “go to” verses from God when this happens:

Ephesians 4:14-16 – We must stop acting like children. We must not let deceitful people trick us by their false teachings, which are like winds that toss us around from place to place. Love should always make us tell the truth. Then we will grow in every way and be more like Christ, the head of the body. Christ holds it together and makes all of its parts work perfectly, as it grows and becomes strong because of love.

2 Timothy 3:14-17 – Keep on being faithful to what you were taught and to what you believed. After all, you know who taught you these things.  Since childhood, you have known the Holy Scriptures that are able to make you wise enough to have faith in Christ Jesus and be saved. Everything in the Scriptures is God’s Word. All of it is useful for teaching and helping people and for correcting them and showing them how to live. The Scriptures train God’s servants to do all kinds of good deeds.

STOP ACTING

Stop acting like a child because you’ll find throughout life deceitful people will try and suck you in, telling us lies, teaching us things that cry out “not true”, but because you are battered and hard pressed on all sides, your mind starts thinking “are these lies or is this the truth?” and there’s only one person worth listening to and that is the Lord, just read his word and ask him to reveal what is real, what is love, what is truth, and he says it as it is, from your youth you have known the Bible, from your childhood you have been told that everything in the scriptures is actually God’s word, so no need for scholars, no need for biblical acrobatics as people procrastinate about each meaning, leaning towards political correctness instead of God’s love and grace, face up to reality, the path is narrow, the path is not wide, if it was easy to get in there would be no crimes, if it was easy then God would not have sent Jesus because we would be sin free and there would be no need to save us, be faithful, be believing, put an end to him who delights in deceiving, Satan your time is up, you can no longer trip me up, I know that I am a child of God, I know that my life reflects his word, I know that I will make mistakes, I know that God will give me a break and look down on me with compassion as I come to him in repentance, I know that his love is all that matters and whilst human words can temporarily shatter my peace, because I believe I will survive, because of you God I will thrive, because of Jesus I am alive, and if I fail to believe his word, I would fall, I would perish, I would be unprepared, but because of his word I have hope, I have freedom, I am no longer broken I am loved and restored, cherished and chosen.

Leave a Reply

