Each of us were blinded to the light

Don’t you love it when God gently reminds you of a promise or a word he has given you in the past.  That’s one of the reasons I love blogging, I have such a rich record of all that God has done and is doing in my life.  Today I was reminded by God of a verse spoke to me about just before my Baptism two years ago:

John 9:1 – 5 – As Jesus walked along, he saw a man who had been blind since birth. Jesus’ disciples asked, “Teacher, why was this man born blind? Was it because he or his parents sinned?” “No, it wasn’t!” Jesus answered. “But because of his blindness, you will see God work a miracle for him.  As long as it is day, we must do what the one who sent me wants me to do. When night comes, no one can work. While I am in the world, I am the light for the world.”

At that stage I was still questioning, “why was I born gay”.  Now I realise that I wasn’t born that way but that many factors in my life led me to walk away from God and follow that lifestyle before God freed me.  But the real message in this passage for me is twofold.

  1. God can use any situation to show his glory and grace.
  2. We must do what God asks us to do, we must follow his lead and be a light in the darkness that surrounds us.

Praise God that, as with the blind man, Jesus chose to open my eyes to the truth, he had mercy on me and gave me the greatest gift of all.

NOTHING TOO HARD FOR HIM

Every situation a potential opportunity for victory.  Nothing too hard, no one too far gone, no circumstance not worth a second glance, each of us were blinded to the light, each of us were struggling to do the right thing, each of us was tied up in knots in our sin and each of us needed to begin again, to wash the mud from our eyes, to listen to our God and Saviour, to alter our behaviour, repent and sin no more, to open the door of our hearts to a God who will never depart, will never fail or falter, never change or alter, accept this the gift that goes on giving, the gift that shows we are forgiven, the gift that makes our lives worth living, praise God from whom this blessing flows, praise God who will not let you go, praise God who’s full of grace and mercy, praise God, he opened your eyes and let you see.

Leave a Reply

