Draw strength from the words of this Psalm,

So much has happened in a short weekend that it’s difficult to know where to start blogging today.  A wonderful day at the beach with my Mum, reminiscing at the time we lived there, then an almighty outburst from my Dad who is extremely volatile and (still) an angry man which left me reeling.  A church service which spoke about suffering helping to shape us, as we are defined by our experiences and prayer from my faithful prayer warriors based on Psalm 27.  I am still in some shock this morning, I am sad for my Dad and my heart is sore because of his inability to see how loved he is, his inability to celebrate life and his raging anger at all that surrounds him, including me.

So today I think it’s important for me to focus on my desire which is summed up in these verses:

Psalm 27: 4-5 – One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.  For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.

ROCKED

God, my world rocked and I was shocked, my world wobbled and I struggled to see that my fight is not against flesh and blood but against Satan who would love to see me fall, who wants to see me run away from all that I have become in God, but I draw strength from the words of this Psalm, in my day of trouble I am not alone, you keep me safe in your home, you hide me in your shelter, you even set me high upon a rock as if to show Satan that he cannot rock me anymore because I am secure, underpinned by the Lord God Almighty who has already secured the victory, he has already answered me as I cried out he redeemed me, never to fall back into old ways, constantly lifting my arms in praise, waiting for the privilege of spending all my days gazing on the beauty of the Lord, living in his house, seeking him in his temple, no need to wrestle with lies and deceit, my life complete knowing one day every knee will bow, all this just now is temporary, a momentary distraction until the day you return with passion to take us home to our heavenly mansion.

Leave a Reply

