God saw me way off in the distance and he didn’t hesitate

Our sermon today was on the Prodigal son.  I start my book with these verses from Luke:

Luke 15:11-13 (CEV) Jesus also told them another story: Once a man had two sons. The younger son said to his father, “Give me my share of the property.” So the father divided his property between his two sons.  Not long after that, the younger son packed up everything he owned and left for a foreign country, where he wasted all his money in wild living.

I have looked upon myself as a Prodigal, having been brought up in a Christian home, yet being wasteful of all those opportunities God afforded me at an early age.   I went on to be wasteful and disrespectful to God.  But I absolutely love verse 20:

Luke 15:20(CEV) – The younger son got up and started back to his father. But when he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt sorry for him. He ran to his son and hugged and kissed him

I even had a picture this morning in church of God running to me.  Not me running to God, but God running to me, so happy to see me, so excited and it made me so humble, yet blessed.

I did learn that being a prodigal isn’t just about before you are saved.  We can be wasteful as Christians too and I had never really thought about that before.  Whatever gifts God has given us we should employ cheerfully for his service.  We shouldn’t be wasting the opportunities he gives us to further his work here on earth.

RUN TO ME

God ran to me, like God saw me way off in the distance and he didn’t hesitate, he set off through the gates because he wanted to welcome me, they say we should enter his gates with thanksgiving in our hearts and enter his courts with praise, but this raises the bar, God saw me from afar, he knew every sin, everything I’d ever done, he’d heard what I’d said and his heart had bled because of my disobedience, yet with an easiness that defies logic, an action symbolic of his eternal love for me he ran to me, arms outstretched, he embraced me, a wretched sinner, he invited me to dinner, he led me to his banqueting table, and there I was able to see that this was my God who really loved me, whilst still a sinner he’d watched over me, whilst still a sinner he’d not given up on me, that’s the most awesome love of a Father, the love of a Dad who was so glad to see me he pushed all the boundaries and threw a big party.

Leave a Reply

