Love them and leave the rest to me

I struggled for words this morning as I come crashing down after a particularly challenging counselling session.  The first thing I wrote, well that wasn’t for this Blog, but it revealed to me an incredible hurt that I need to give to God and an admission that there are a number of people in my life who I can’t change.  Much as I want to, that’s not my job and I feel like God has given me the message today to just love them and leave the rest to him.

LEAVE THE REST TO GOD

Love them and leave the rest to me, love them with all your heart, you cannot change what’s in them, that’s not your part to play, that’s mine, God’s. I am their loving Father just like I am yours, just as they cannot change you, your life changed when you allowed me in, your life changed when you recognised the sin that held you back, you can’t put them on track, you need to trust, to love with compassion, to love with no agenda and let me be the one to whisper quietly in their ear, let me be the one to melt their heart, let me be the one who sets them apart, stop striving, stop living life as if you have to be the one to change what you cannot change, rest in me, allow my hand to guide your way, don’t think or say that you’re not enough, failing because you failed to make them listen, that’s not your job, that’s not what I asked of you, just love them as you love me, you have an incredible capacity to love, don’t drown in noise that’s not of me, don’t be afraid of the silence as I speak, don’t see it as a sign of weakness, humble yourself and allow me to take this

Leave a Reply

