I have chosen to walk out of my prison

Consider yourself dead to the power of sin and alive in God.  Consider, or think, about the power of that statement.  Yes, we will still sin even when we are Christians, but sin no longer has the power over us it once had.  We have the power within us to turn away from lifelong habits, addictions and behaviours which have kept us apart from God.  We have the power to tell Satan to get out of our lives when he lies to us and seeks to hold us down.  We have the power to say “no more”, the power to be raised with Christ and claim all the wonderful things that means for our lives.  God has given us freedom, it’s like the cell door has been flung open and the guards are gone.   Do we choose to stay sitting in the cell because it’s what we know and are familiar with, or do we take the opportunity to claim our freedom and strike out into the world as a new creation.  If you do one thing today, take a step outside your cell door and see all the promise God has for your life.

Romans 6:8-11 – As surely as we died with Christ, we believe we will also live with him. We know that death no longer has any power over Christ. He died and was raised to life, never again to die. When Christ died, he died for sin once and for all. But now he is alive, and he lives only for God.  In the same way, you must think of yourselves as dead to the power of sin. But Christ Jesus has given life to you, and you live for God

RESCUED

Thank you Jesus for taking my sin and rescuing me, thank you Jesus for dying for me, allowing me to be raised with you, never again to die, to be alive in you, to stand strong in the face of sin and temptation, thank you for making the sacrifice that means the difference between eternal death and eternal life, thank you for choosing me, for giving me the ability to turn from my sin, for giving me strength to look Satan in the face and say, no more, no more shame, no more guilt, no more blame and no more living in the past, at last I am free, the chains are broken and I have chosen to walk out of my prison, to accept your hand as you reach out to me, to share in Jesus’s victory, to give you the glory every morning, to give you the praise all of my days, free to be who you made me to be, walking in the light, doing the right thing, working it out, giving all doubts to my God above, allowing him to bless me with love, being still and knowing that you are God.

Leave a Reply

