Look he is coming with the clouds, every eye will see him

Acts 1:   9-11 – After Jesus had said this and while they were watching, he was taken up into a cloud. They could not see him, but as he went up, they kept looking up into the sky. Suddenly two men dressed in white clothes were standing there beside them. They said, “Why are you men from Galilee standing here and looking up into the sky? Jesus has been taken to heaven. But he will come back in the same way that you have seen him go.”

Do you ever gaze up at the sky as you pray?  I do this quite often as I use my dog walking time as a special time of talking to God.  I often look up at the sky, that’s where I imagine God to be, somewhere beyond the clouds, I lift my arms skyward in praise, I chat, sing, shout and praise my God who’s beyond the sky that I can see.

How awesome to think that the disciples witnessed Jesus returning to heaven, but even better than that, one day he will return in the same way.

No wonder I keep looking to the sky, in hope and confidence that Jesus will return again soon, come Lord Jesus.

TAKE A MINUTE

Just take a minute, go outside and look up at the sky, close your eyes and visualise Jesus ascending into heaven, this wasn’t his home just like it’s not mine, a temporary place to rest my head, Jesus himself said whoever believes in me will have eternal life, I know this human body is a makeshift  shelter for my soul and when God’s ready he’ll call me home to a world I’ve never known, yet long to see, a place of love and peace, a place where I will see Jesus face to face, he overcame this world before returning to his Father and just like David said, I’d rather spend one day in his courts than a thousand elsewhere, so as I gaze into the sky I wonder when he will return, when will his Kingdom come to earth, when will every knee bow and how will that happen, what will it sound like when we worship with passion, millions of voices praising our Saviour, all those who have found his favour rejoicing with fervour, what will it feel like to finally be with Jesus, to be home, never again to be alone, no more tears, no more pain, new bodies with no constraints, complaints a thing of the past as we sit at the feet of the Lamb at last, I can only imagine the joy we will feel when we look at the sky and see Jesus returning, the days of yearning finally over, look he is coming with the clouds, every eye will see him even those who pierced him, look Jesus is coming again, with all the Saints on earth to reign

Leave a Reply

