Reclaiming the rainbow, our promise from God

I’m writing a book at the moment and I have a working title, however over the last couple of days I feel like God has been saying to me call it “Reclaiming the Rainbow”.

In Genesis God promised never to destroy the earth by flood for the judgment of sin and he sent the rainbow as a symbol. The rainbow shows more than that though. It shows God’s glory and His faithfulness, it reflects God’s glory, the radiance of his beauty, holiness, and perfection.

Genesis 9:11-17 – I promise every living creature that the earth and those living on it will never again be destroyed by a flood.  The rainbow that I have put in the sky will be my sign to you and to every living creature on earth. It will remind you that I will keep this promise forever. When I send clouds over the earth, and a rainbow appears in the sky, I will remember my promise to you and to all other living creatures. Never again will I let floodwaters destroy all life. When I see the rainbow in the sky, I will always remember the promise that I have made to every living creature. The rainbow will be the sign of that solemn promise.

I was thinking about this title and it threw up some interesting reflections.  Yes, I do believe we need to reclaim the rainbow for God, as in we need to reclaim his laws, his teaching and his design for human sexuality.  But I also believe that God cleverly stays close to those communities who need his love and is the rainbow symbol a subtle way of showing that God is close and able to love this community the same way as any other?  So do we need to reclaim the rainbow or did it ever go out of God’s possession in the first place?

RECLAIMING THE RAINBOW

Reclaiming the rainbow, our promise from God, a promise made to every living creature, a symbol of God’s glory and faithfulness, reminding us of his greatness, his capacity to love, to forgive, his desire that we should live, his hunger for all to be saved, a reflection of the radiance of his beauty, the rainbow an image of his holiness, his utter perfection, a promise never to destroy for the judgment of sin, a promise that comes from within his heart, his love for us so immense, his sorrow for that loss intense, God’s symbol increasingly recognised by mankind as a symbol of homosexual sin, a flag of pride, held high,  God’s symbol a promise to all mankind and it’s kind of ironic that those who have rejected him have chosen this design as a sign for their movement, and then I get it, God’s staying close to the ones whom he loves, for he loved the outcasts and the sinners, he wasn’t all about saints and winners, so as that flag flies above their rallies, God’s really saying I will forgive, I will love you unconditionally, I will always be there for you and when you need me I’ll be there, not a God of anger but a God of love, not a God of unforgiveness but a God who wipes the slate clean when any one sinner turns to him, so as that rainbow flies in the sky, I see that it has been reclaimed by Jesus who died so all could be saved.

Leave a Reply

