I don’t think it’s challenging enough for the God of creation

I was reading today of how we can train ourselves to drink deeply of God as we worship.  Having been to a worship night on Sunday and then experienced a real presence of God while worshipping on Monday evening I can see how worship opens us up to receive so much more from God.

Yesterday, instead of my normal prayer routine I just sang worship songs and then lay and listened to more.  I admit to falling asleep and woke with worship in my ears.  I felt a closeness to God and also as if he had been doing some healing while I slept.

I believe God wants to give us so much more than we currently ask for or expect.  So that’s it, God I want more please 😊

Isaiah 12:1-3 In that day you will sing: “I will praise you, O LORD! You were angry with me, but not any more. Now you comfort me. See, God has come to save me. I will trust in him and not be afraid. The LORD GOD is my strength and my song; he has given me victory.” With joy you will drink deeply from the fountain of salvation!

Psalm 42:1 (MSG) A white-tailed deer drinks from the creek; I want to drink God, deep draughts of God.

 Are my expectations too small

God, are my expectations too small, am I hampered by the confines of human limitations?  Here’s the situation, as I come to you I have a degree of expectation but I don’t think it’s challenging enough for the God of creation, my desire simply for a spark from your fire, when you want me to be consumed within it, you want your fire to run through my veins, my expectations are shamefully low, so here I go, I’m answering your call, desiring to receive all your blessings, with singing I will praise you Lord, I will trust in your name and not be afraid, you are my strength, you are the song in my heart, victory is mine because of your kindness and with joy, I will drink deeply from the fountain of salvation, no longer satisfied with a sip from the creek, I want to drink deep, to breathe in your power and soak up your love, praising and praying without giving up, drinking deeply and freely from your overflowing cup.

Leave a Reply

