I am a bundle of potential, my ability unrealised

I was thinking today about our potential.  What got me started on that was reading about Saul’s jealousy of David.  Sometimes we compare ourselves to others and we can feel jealousy if we don’t feel we are as good as them or if we feel their gifts are more honed than ours.  But then I thought, maybe I’m not supposed to have the same gifts, I have other gifts and tons of potential.  I have God living in me.  Now, if that doesn’t speak of potential, nothing does!  So, I need to unlock the treasure I have, not try and gain gifts that are not mine but pray for God to use the gifts I have been blessed with.  I have so much to give to light up my own little corner of this vast world, that’s what I need to work on.

Genesis 11:6 – And the Lord said, “Behold, they are one people, and they have all one language, and this is only the beginning of what they will do. And nothing that they propose to do will now be impossible for them.

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Ephesians 3:20 ­ Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us,

POTENTIAL

I am a bundle of potential, my ability unrealised, my treasure hidden in clay jars, I possess an earth shattering dynamism, I am a force to be reckoned with, I have no limits, except my belief, if I fail to believe I will fail to leave my mark on society, if I fail to trust God I’m going to fall hard, If I’m a slave to comparison I have no reason to call myself Christian, if I fail to listen to what God calls me I’ve lost my identity, chosen, loved, cherished, redeemed it’s more than I dreamed it could be, forgiven, citizen of heaven, confident and kept from falling, that is my calling, sanctified, no longer ashamed, called child of God, beloved and safe, no condemnation, a new creation, l am what I am by his Grace alone, I’m helped in my weakness, rescued from the darkness, buried with Christ and raised up with him too, more than a conqueror through him who loves me, predestined to be part of his family, born of the Spirit, reborn and baptised, alive in him, the apple of his eye, I am that bundle of potential and I will be influential, I am a miracle, an individual created by God, integral to his plans for his Kingdom, I will shine in the places I inhabit, in this my corner of the planet I plan to use the gifts he’s given, to share his love, his peace and his vision.

Leave a Reply

