I remember where I was when God chose me

Sadly, in this world, we are often judged by our outer appearance.  There are unrealistic pressures imposed by elements of the press and society to look a certain way, making many people dissatisfied or unhappy with themselves.

With God there are no such pressures.  In fact, God looks at the heart.  Check out the story of how David was anointed, youngest of eight brothers God chose him.  He was probably pretty insignificant within his own family, not the strongest, the most intelligent and probably not even the best looking (but that’s speculation!) as the youngest he would have been overlooked on many occasions for one of his older, more experienced brothers.  But God chose him, God knew he was the right person because God saw into his heart (1 Samuel 16).

Isn’t that great news for us.  God sees into our hearts and chooses us for service based on our heart.  It doesn’t matter what you look like or what you see as your faults, God bypasses that and goes straight to the important place, your heart.

1 Corinthians 1:26-30 –  My dear friends, remember what you were when God chose you. The people of this world didn’t think that many of you were wise. Only a few of you were in places of power, and not many of you came from important families.  But God chose the foolish things of this world to put the wise to shame. He chose the weak things of this world to put the powerful to shame.

What the world thinks is worthless, useless, and nothing at all is what God has used to destroy what the world considers important.  God did all this to keep anyone from bragging to him.  You are God’s children. He sent Christ Jesus to save us and to make us wise, acceptable, and holy.

I REMEMBER

I remember where I was when God chose me, I remember how the world scorned me for my sexuality, I recall the shame heaped on me, the blame I put on others who scarred me, I remember that empty feeling, the nights just staring at the ceiling, angry feelings overwhelming me, fear and anxiety crippling me, the enemy gripping onto me and I failed to see that anything good would come out of me, but Jesus you saw my heart, you saw the treasure deep inside this clay vessel, you saw beauty rising from the ashes, flashes of potential which you knew with gentle handling could be fashioned into something outstanding, a glorious reflection of your power, a transformation like no other, you the potter took the clay and made it what it is today, you looked past my flaws, opened the door of my heart took all that was good and made it better, you searched deep within to find the treasure.

Leave a Reply

