Don’t let me take the reins and gallop in the wrong direction

I was listening to the Casting Crowns song – Love you with the Truth today.  These lyrics are powerful:

When we love, we earn the right to speak the truth When we speak truth, we show the world we truly love I’m not pointing my finger, I’m holding out my hand I lay it all on the line now to see God save my friend Let my life and my words be the proof I’m gonna love you with the truth

As Christians God calls us to speak in truth.  Sometimes that’s tough.  Sometimes we shy away from that conversation with a friend for fear of looking like we are judging or meddling.  But should we stand by and watch our friends floundering or walking down the wrong path.  When friends are unable to make sense of things should we step in with support and encouragement.

I think that’s exactly what God calls us to do.  Let me be the first to say to my friends, love me with God’s truth.

LOVE ME WITH THE TRUTH

Love me with God’s truth, I beg you don’t stand and watch me fail, don’t ignore my actions, don’t ignore my pain, don’t let me take the reins and gallop in the wrong direction, I’m not adverse to some Godly correction, I have no fear of open talk, I won’t balk at your support when you court me with the truth, when you speak of obedience I won’t go on the defensive, I’m here to learn, I’m here to grow, I don’t pretend to know it all so if I fall (and fall I may) don’t stay silent, don’t spend your days questioning your motives, when you speak in love the truth is a gesture, a hand outstretched to a friend, I don’t see it as judgmental in fact it’s fundamental to our calling to support those who are in danger of falling, when I stand too close to the edge, provide a hedge of love around me, speak lovingly remembering these words, God is the truth living in me, God is truth and the truth sets us free.

 

Leave a Reply

