I’m no longer concerned about public opinion

Jesus calls each of us by name.  If you are reading this as a Christian there will have been a moment in time when Jesus called your name, and you responded.  It came to me today that Mary Magdalene was the first person called by the risen Lord.  The first of us who believed in our “risen” Saviour.

  • John 20:16 – Then Jesus said to her, “Mary!” She turned and said to him, “Rabboni.” The Aramaic word “Rabboni” means “Teacher.”

She is the model we should all follow, what did she do when Jesus called her name.  She went and told others that she had seen Jesus.  This is exactly what Jesus calls us to do.

  • Matthew 28:19 – Go to the people of all nations and make them my disciples. Baptize them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,

CALLED

He has called me by name and I am his, he has called me, my name was on his lips, my name that was engraved on his hands spoken out loud, picked out, selected, not just one of the crowd, chosen by Jesus to be victorious, elected to receive his glorious grace, a place reserved for me in his heavenly Kingdom, I’m no longer concerned about public opinion, cos he who counts the stars and knows them by name is the same God who has redeemed me and called me by name, he sees me as worthy to no longer go thirsty, his rivers of living water flow through me, he calls me to share, to dare to be bold, to speak life into those who are weary or out in the cold, he calls me to go out, make disciples of the nations, his desire that all will receive his salvation.

Leave a Reply

