You stand in the fire beside me

God gave me a message today, the message was, “God is near” and I wanted to share this because I think there are more than a handful of people who need to hear this.

Sometimes I think it is good to remind ourselves of how close God is in every situation.  It’s easy to get overwhelmed by the things of this world.  It’s easy to forget that actually in the midst of everything, God is near.

  • Psalm 56:3 – When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.
  • Psalm 139:5 – You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me
  • James 4:8 – Come near to God and he will come near to you

 

YOU STAND BESIDE ME

You stand in the fire beside me, stalked by demons your angels surround me, lonely and afraid your arms enfold me, tortured by mistakes that don’t define me you remind me of my true identity, when I sit in the darkness your light illuminates the darkest corners, when I wake you are with me, when I sleep you protect me, when I mourn you comfort me, when I cry you collect my tears, when I am fearful you tell me, “do not be afraid” when I doubt my worth you tell me “I am fearfully and wonderfully made”, when I ask, you tell me great and wonderful things, you delight with singing over me, you created me, this masterpiece, you left the ninety nine so you could find me, you’ll never leave me nor forsake me, you are the God who goes before me, the God who hems me in before and behind, you lay your hand upon me and I am blessed, God draw near to me now and let me rest.

Leave a Reply

