Jesus wept.  That kind of swept me off my feet

Up until today I knew the shortest verse in the Bible was John 11:35 but I had never grasped its significance.

John 11:35 – Jesus Wept

As our preacher spoke of the death of Lazarus it started to dawn on me.  Jesus loves me in the same way he loved Lazarus.  As he wept openly at the tomb of Lazarus so he has wept at my “death”.  By that I don’t mean my physical death but the times when I turned my back on God, the times I chose to follow the world and not him.  Jesus wept over me.  In the same way that Jesus prayed at the entrance of the tomb of Lazarus I believe he prayed and interceded for me and continues to do so.

  • Hebrews 7:25 – Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them
  • Isaiah 53:12…. For he bore the sin of many and made intercession for the transgressors
  • 1 John 2:1-2 – My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world

Now if that’s not outrageous love, I’m not sure what is!

JESUS WEPT

Jesus wept.  That kind of swept me off my feet, see if Jesus cried then he knows what we go through when the tears start to flow, he gets all the sadness when life brings us low, Jesus wept because he was human, his love for his friend all-consuming, his tears indicative of the pain he felt, the agony of loss, and this same Jesus cried over me, see, we are part of his family, each one of us holds a place in his heart, he gives us the glory that he too received, believing in you and believing in me and in the same way that he prayed for his friend, he prays and intercedes for our offences, he’s already taken the consequences but because of his outrageous love, because he thinks the world of us, this Jesus is our advocate, standing between us and the Father, praying for us to prosper, asking for us to be fostered into God’s family, interceding for our sins, able to save us completely, his tears not those cried briefly, his tears from the heart fall to set us apart from the sin that hardened our hearts, his tears a genuine indication of his desire to save every nation, that not one should perish, each life cherished.

Leave a Reply

