A form of courtship where God shows me how intimately he knows me

One of the passages spoken about on Saturday at our conference was Psalm 36.  In my notes I wrote “River of Delight”, so today have revisited the Psalm to see what this refers to.

Psalm 36:5-9

Your love, Lord, reaches to the heavens,     your faithfulness to the skies. Your righteousness is like the highest mountains,     your justice like the great deep.     You, Lord, preserve both people and animals. How priceless is your unfailing love, O God!     People take refuge in the shadow of your wings. They feast in the abundance of your house;     you give them drink from your river of delights.  For with you is the fountain of life;     in your light we see light.

Here David talks of God’s love in such a way that draws me in.  This is no ordinary love, this is a love that can be feasted on.  A feast that never ends, a river of delights that fulfils our every need and holy desire.  His love is light, a light that floods our lives, he is not just the giver of life but the fountain of life, renewing us repeatedly.

MY INVITATION

An invitation for me, as it floats down from heaven I see my name beautifully engraved on the envelope and it reminds me that my name is engraved on your hand, as it lands at my feet I see the intricacy of the craftsmanship, this is no ordinary invite, but you see this is no ordinary relationship, a form of courtship where God shows me how intimately he knows me, how much he loves me, how deeply he cares for me, his love reaching down from heaven to surround me, unfailing, never ending, sending signals to all who know me, his banner of love flies all around me, priceless, rare and valuable, a love that’s tangible, this is my unchangeable God who guards me fiercely, he brings me rest, and the best bit is I get to feast in the abundance of his generosity, I drink from the rivers of delight, his love lights me up, I am blessed in his rest, renewed by his love, invited to the eternal banquet in heaven above.

Leave a Reply

