A true and loving Father who does not look back in anger.

Got to admit to getting angry this morning, not my best moment which then led to my being intolerant with a customer (although I’m not sure they noticed, the intolerance was mostly in my head) and letting off steam as I shouted idiot towards the door that they had just closed!

Felt terrible but then I gave it to God, asked his forgiveness and spent some time praying to him about the cause of my anger.

Isaiah 44:22 – I will sweep your sins away as if they were a cloud.  I will blow them away as if they were the morning mist. Return to me.  Then I will set you free.”

God tells us that he sweeps away our sins as if they were a cloud, I can just imagine his hand pushing the cloud out of sight.  He blows them away as if they were the morning mist, not even a vast breath required by God but a gentle breeze, and then he tells us that he will set us free.

So often we sin and hold on to it, like I’ve got to feel bad for the rest of the day because I have sinned, but God says no, I set you free.  I claim that for myself today, he died to bring me freedom 😊

Jonah 2:2 – He said: “In my distress I called to the Lord, and he answered me. From deep in the realm of the dead I called for help and you listened to my cry.

BLOWN AWAY

In my distress I called to the Lord and he answered me, OK so distress may be a gross exaggeration in this particular situation, but you get the gist, I was lost in a mist of anger, a danger to myself, the cloud of sin closing me in yet as I started to regret my behaviour, I called to my Saviour and he listened to my cry, he heard me calling and answered me, see this is what our God is like, no grudges and he always gives us second chances, he understands our fallen nature and his nature is to take a deep breath and blow the sins away as if they were a morning mist, a cloud dissolved in the blink of an eye, no need to keep looking up to the sky to confirm the cloud had gone, when God forgives it’s permanent, no ifs or buts, no fuss or bother, he is a true and loving Father who does not look back in anger.

Leave a Reply

