Should I forget everything and run, or face everything and rise

Fear, of whom shall I fear, of what shall I fear?  My Bible reading talked about identifying fear and being ready to bring all our fears to God.  I think fear is a powerful word, some of the things I used to “fear” like death are no longer significant to me, I no longer fear them.  And some of the things that used to keep me awake for hours or produce a knot of tension in my stomach are still there, but much smaller and less significant.  I work for myself and there are some months when it seems like I will not be able to pay myself but then God steps in.  A tax refund from the previous year, the generous gift of a friend or family member, a last-minute booking that provides funds are just some of the ways God has provided.  So now I don’t “fear” in the same way.  I admit to wobbles at times, but then I refocus on God and he takes away the fear element.  It’s a roller coaster but I feel God is preparing me for something and learning patience and trust is an important part of that preparation.

 

Exodus 14:14 –  The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still

Isaiah 41:10 – So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand

F.E.A.R.

Should I forget everything and run, or face everything and rise, should I allow this anxiety to get the better of me, my imagination playing tricks on me when in reality this is why Jesus died for me, face my fear courageously, be bold as he told us to be, pursue what God appointed me to be, don’t let life’s worries get in the way, didn’t God say that he will provide for me, his love envelopes me, his abundance poured over me, my confidence remains in Jesus, central to all I believe in,  the closer I stay to the shepherd the safer I am from the wolf whose voice will try and tell me that fear is my primary response, but here’s my response, I belong to Jesus who came to save us from all uncertainties, who sees our struggles and adversity and tells us “give it all to me”, I am free because he chose me, I will not be chained to insecurities, I will not be bound by fear and worry, I’m on this journey with a loving God and Saviour, who savours my company, breaks down iron gates for me, cuts through bars and flattens mountains for me, see why should I fear, I have no worries for Jesus fights every battle for me, my rock, my refuge, my security

Leave a Reply

