Every distraction and disruption malfunctioned

Yesterday morning I spent 2 hours in the prayer room at church and strongly felt God talking to me about Psalm 139.  I focused on a picture of a baby grasping it’s Father’s thumb, the four tiny fingers gripping so hard the strong hand, and the strong arms that enfolded the baby really spoke to me of God’s love and strength.  Whilst sometimes we feel we are just gripping on, God has actually got us safely held in his strong arms, we’re not going anywhere.  I recalled Psalm 139 and how I was chosen and observed throughout my miraculous creation.

However sometimes I think God has a message and we don’t quite get it.  Still struggling with issues from the past I called a friend in the afternoon and after some discussion she suggested we go to Vineyard that evening for a service.  God works in mysterious and awesome ways, yes you guessed it the sermon was based on Psalm 139.  Yet not the part I had focused on in the morning but the part I really needed to hear and act on – a prayer in verse 23 and 24.

Psalm 139:23-24 – Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me in the way everlasting

I know that there is an area of my life, namely my past, that I have issues with and I know that rather than being anxious about that or allowing it to rule my mind I have an opportunity to hand that to God and live my life in God’s everlasting way.  So thanks to my friend and to God’s prompting I am another step forward in recognising that I need to open that up to God and ask him to take control.

SET MY SIGHTS

I lift my head, set my sights on God and vow to finish this race in victory, more than a conqueror through him who loves me, indeed an overcomer with nothing to fear, it couldn’t be more clear God is for me so who can be against me I am a child of the one true King, Satan your lies hold no sting for me, your deceit, well that’s history, everything you meant for destruction, every distraction and disruption malfunctioned, God has an injunction on you, a restraining order, you cannot touch me, I am free, no darkness in me, God’s light has illuminated all the shadows where you sought to find a place to taunt and goad and disrupt my race, God’s love has freed me, he shapes my identity, he’s greater, stronger and more powerful than anything you throw at me, I grow through what I go through and I know that God is going to use me, an overcomer I lift my head, set my eyes on God and give him the glory.

Leave a Reply

