If I wonder too far away his gaze follows me

When you go through troubles God tells us we can turn to him.  What he also offers us is other Christians who can help us and support us in prayer and with practical advice.  I believe that when others intercede for us God can give them messages or passages of scripture to help us.  Today that happened for me and the passage was Psalm 23.  I meditated on Psalm 23 and suddenly it came alive to me in a way like never before.

Psalm 23: The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.     He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,     he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths     for his name’s sake. Even though I walk     through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil,     for you are with me; your rod and your staff,     they comfort me.You prepare a table before me     in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil;     my cup overflows. Surely your goodness and love will follow me     all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord     forever

THE SHEPHERD

As I roam about the land the shepherd sets up his post and watches me, I am free to wander, free to eat and drink, free to be me, but if I wonder too far away his gaze follows me, if I stray from the path he wants me on he’s watching, calling me back to his fold, if I will not be told and stray still further away he gets up to follow, keeping me within his field of vision, he doesn’t force me back yet he doesn’t lose track of me, always knowing where I am and what I am doing, he leads me to the best places with the choicest fayre and the quietest waters, he wants me to be refreshed and rested, he doesn’t want me tested by the enemy, he sticks beside me even when the path takes me through the darkest of valleys, he doesn’t leave me and that makes me strong, when he is with me I fear no evil for the shepherd is equipped to protect me, his rod and staff a comfort to me when threatened by my enemies, in fact he is so confident for me he prepares a table for me in their presence, in essence he shows me that he has rescued me, protected and free with a sure and lasting hope, I can cope because he had anointed me, blessed and sacred in his sight he causes light to surround me constantly, never in darkness and in the stillness as I meditate these things the words of blessing ring true “surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life”, you follow me with blessings, you go before, you fall behind, overseen by the Holy shepherd who desires nothing more than for me to dwell in his house forever and I’ve never seen it this way before, the shepherd keeping a close watch on his flock, the Shepherd searching through the valleys and rocks to ensure not one sheep gets away, that any strays are returned to their family, an amnesty for the prodigals, for those who may have forgotten their calling, listen to the shepherd he’s calling you to return to the pasture where he will delight over you with love and laughter.

Leave a Reply

