It’s OK to pause, it’s OK to feel a little bit numb

I was reminded this morning that it’s OK to pause.  It’s OK to take God’s rest, to allow him to soothe and refresh us and to lift all our cares from us.  I have been struggling over the past few days feeling that I needed to be strong and to keep up a level of activity, prayer and praise when actually I am not able to maintain the momentum and I need to deal with the grief of my brother’s death.

God does not see that as a weakness, in fact Jesus himself encouraged the disciples to go and be alone so they could rest.

  • Mark 6:31 – Then Jesus said, “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.” He said this because there were so many people coming and going that Jesus and his apostles didn’t even have time to eat. So they left by boat for a quiet place, where they could be alone.
  • Matthew 11:28 -“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

 PAUSE

It’s OK to pause, it’s OK to feel a little bit numb, God wants us to rest in him, to give him all the pain and the grief and actually it’s such a relief to realise that I am fearfully and wonderfully made, capable of dealing with these emotions when God’s timing is right, a God whose devotion to me is unquestionably the only thing that’s keeping me in check, stopping this from becoming a total shipwreck as he gently takes the wheel and steers me through the fallout, as I callout he answers, come to me all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest, I run to him, I seek him out, I have no doubts or fears when he is near, I yearn for quiet and stillness to return, I long to sit with God and just be, my mind stilled, my heart refilled with God’s own energy that fills me to capacity, here I am Lord, let me rest here awhile, revive me, comfort me, help me process all that I feel in the safety of your presence, shelter me, work with me, you are the potter, I am the clay, mould me, shape me and guide me today.

Leave a Reply

