You realise that this is outrageous grace

I want God to steer the ship when the storm comes.  I want him to take control because I know him and I trust him to see me through each and every storm in my life.  Yes, it does sometimes seem hard and yes, sometimes I start doing it my way before I remember to stop and ask God what his way is.  But I am getting better at that and I know God is compassionate and also understands our human frailties so when I veer off in my own direction he waits patiently for me to hand the rudder back to him.

PROVERBS 3:5-6 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight

THAT MOMENT

That moment when you try to explain to Jesus how hard life has been lately and then you plainly see the scars on his hands and his feet, the gap in his side where he was maimed and the crown of thorns that framed his face and you realise that this is outrageous grace, the man who died on the cross for me takes time out to listen to my story, no judgment, no comparison with his own suffering, he sits and listens, he listens to me, he understands my need to be with him, he calms me, holds me close, carries me when he needs to, he made me new through his sacrifice, no price to pay back to him, my sin is gone, my shame gone too and now all he wants to do is calm me in the storm, lift me when I’m worn down and tired, he requires nothing of me, what grace, what sublimity, Jesus will never abandon me, his sacrifice humbles me, his love overpowers me.

Leave a Reply

