My messy season, no point in trying to reason this out or start to doubt

This is my “Messy Season”.  I was talking to my sister yesterday and that’s exactly how she described all that’s going on in our family at the moment.  My brother’s death and delayed funeral coupled with Dad’s cancer recurrence and rapid deterioration and Mum’s ongoing battle with dementia and Parkinson’s is making this feel like life is messy and difficult.

But then my sister said, that’s what we have to remember, this is just a season.  Death is part of life, death is inevitable and part of the natural order.  It’s only a season, really in terms of eternity it is just a blink.  I so admire her and am grateful for her extensive faith which is helping me to recognise that this is all in God’s plan.

  • Ecclesiastes 3 – For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; …
  • Acts 1:7 – He said to them, “It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority.
  • 1 Peter 1:6 – In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials,
  • Isaiah 40:11 – He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart;

A SEASON

My messy season, no point in trying to reason this out or start to doubt, no need to question “why me?” when all that is happening is meant to be, this is a season under heaven, a time to die for some,  for me a time to weep and mourn, but in the morning I shall rise up and dance, laugh with fondness at memories so precious, for now I vow to embrace the love that surrounds me, the outrageous love that God bestows upon me, the love of friends and family, a messy season but really that’s all it is, a season, a point in time when things on earth got hard for a while, a missed goodbye a time of sadness, an inevitable ending, yet this is not the end for those who love the Lord, this is just temporary, see you later, and when at last I too enter the gates of heaven I’ll take my place beside you, then every knee will bow and every tongue confess God’s sovereignty, I can do messy when I have my Father God who gathers me in his arms and carries me close to his heart as my world falls apart around me, giving me hope, strength and security.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

