He may be planning a hostile takeover

I was using the Lord’s Prayer as my basis for prayer this morning and when concentrating on the “lead us not into temptation” part, the verse from Corinthians came into my head that tells us God will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.

Was interesting then that doing my daily reading they highlighted the verse before it, “So if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall..”

1 Corinthians 10:11-13 -These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the culmination of the ages has come. So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

If you take all that in the context that sometimes when we stand up for Jesus we are making ourselves more of a target for the enemy.  It is a fair warning, although I know I am strong in my faith I also know that Satan will use thoughts, the words of others or maybe the lack of words of others to try and upset me or tempt me and I have to keep my armour on at all times.  God is faithful and he will provide a way out, trust him on that.

LEAD ME NOT

Lead me not into temptation, may Satan’s lies get lost in translation, I have no hesitation in telling Satan his time is over, for I’m no pushover, he may be planning a hostile takeover, but I am covered by the blood of Jesus, resuscitated, brought back to life, this is my life, my choice, my voice and yes I rejoice at my God’s faith, Jesus already pleaded my case and I am not guilty, free and redeemed,  looked after, looked out for by my God and my friend.

Leave a Reply

