Supporting you until like a bird you are ready to leave the nest

Picking up your Cross and following Jesus.  Was thinking about this today, not so much what it means but how God empowers us to do this.  I’m giving my testimony in a couple of weeks and as part of that I was reflecting on Jesus being a life changer.  When I think about where I was before I met God and what I had to change to get to where I am now I could not have done it in my own strength.  When Jesus asks us to pick up our cross it’s important to remember that he’s right there behind you taking the weight, you are not doing it alone.

Matthew 16:24 – Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

MY CROSS

Pick up your cross, pick it up and see how light the burden is now you’ve chosen to follow me, impossible my reality, difficult becoming easy, night becomes day, I say to you if you want to be my disciple you must deny yourself, yet what you may not get is the promise that I will never let you falter, never leave you to struggle with the sacrifices in your life, make no mistake I will never forsake you, so as you put yourself out for me you’ll start to see my lamp as I light your path, start to feel my strength rise up in you as you face the storms head on and win, as you turn from your sins in obedience to me, you’ll feel more free, you’ll see that I am by your side, not just along for the ride but bearing the burden of your sin, transforming you into that new creation, gently supporting you as you find your feet, seated beside you as you sleep, walking beside you every day, taking the weight of the cross away, pick up your cross and follow me, see what I can do for you, see where I will take you, believe that you will soar on wings like an eagle because I have freed you, supporting you until like a bird you are ready to leave the nest, supporting you as a Father who knows what is best, pick up your Cross and follow me, deny yourself to receive.

Leave a Reply

