I know my time to dance is just around the corner

Our sermon this morning was about faith and the following verses were included.  It spoke volumes to me at the moment as I struggle in this storm of grief and I just realised that Jesus was in the boat with me if only I would keep my eyes fully focussed on him.

Matthew 8:23-27 – And when he got into the boat, his disciples followed him.  And behold, there arose a great storm on the sea, so that the boat was being swamped by the waves; but he was asleep. And they went and woke him, saying, “Save us, Lord; we are perishing.”  And he said to them, “Why are you afraid, O you of little faith?” Then he rose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm.  And the men marveled, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even winds and sea obey him?”

I was also thinking about the shortest verse in the Bible, John 11:35.  Jesus wept, it doesn’t say Jesus cried, it says Jesus wept and to me that shows me that Jesus really knew the kind of grief I am feeling.  Thinking of that is a great comfort, Jesus knows what this feels like and he is totally in the boat with me.

IN THE BOAT

Jesus you are in the boat as I hold on during these storms, I keep my eyes on you, knowing that with you I am safe, I am secure and blessed, the storms may mess around with my head but the enemy’s lies, well they’re dead, they can’t touch me cos I am daughter of the living God, however hard he tries to pull me down he won’t remove this crown from my head as I wait to cast if before you in eternity, and I have a certainty that you understand the weeping and the tears, I know that this time of grief is something you relate to as you wept too, you wept in sorrow and anguish, grief something which you have felt and I believe as I grieve now you reach out and grasp my hand, you understand and demand nothing of me at this time, a time to mourn, I know my time to dance is just around the corner, living water wash over me, sustaining and restoring me, comforting and reassuring me, staying in the boat with me until I’m ready to be called out onto the sea.

Leave a Reply

