Quick look around the room, surely that voice was meant for her

Isaiah 6:8 – I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.”

Deuteronomy 14:2 – for you are a people holy to the Lord your God. Out of all the peoples on the face of the earth, the Lord has chosen you to be his treasured possession.

Sometimes we expect to hear God’s voice clearly telling us what to do, yet when I think about that I think maybe it’s more that we should listen for his voice and then make a decision about what he says.  We have free will and I kind of feel God will certainly make us aware of situations but doesn’t he want us to respond and follow him with passion?  We are selected and chosen by God, we are his treasured possession, set apart for his purpose, but God will never force us.  Like Isaiah, there will be times when we hear God’s voice, whom shall I send, who will go, but it is down to us to answer here I am Lord, send me.

WHOM SHALL I SEND?

Whom shall I send?  Quick look around the room, surely that voice was meant for her or meant for him, he can’t mean me, I mean look at me, I’m not ready, I’ve only been going steady with God for a couple of years, so many people better qualified than me, whom shall I send, well that could be me, I mean something inside me is telling me that I was chosen for this calling, so maybe I should quit stalling for time, make this calling mine, do what you are asking with joy and passion, step out with confidence into the bottomless well of blessings that are waiting for those who do your will, still it can be hard to take that first step, yet once I step out in faith I know that I will run the race according to your word, at one accord with your desires, your plans made for me made long ago, so here I go, here I am Lord send me.

Leave a Reply

