Let me find my inner David as I fight my Goliath

I picked up a book this morning at church – Praying for one Another by Gene A Getz.  I was flicking through the first chapter and read of a group of Chinese Christians who had all been imprisoned for years during the communist years.  Upon their release at their first church meeting the prayer time was so powerful, tears flowed and it really reminded me of the words of the hymn, what a friend we have in Jesus, you know the part that says “what a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer”.  In our western, safe culture we may not appreciate fully how privileged we are to be able to bring everything to our God in prayer yet it truly is a privilege to follow the example of Jesus and pray without ceasing.  I then saw that a specific prayer request had come through on our prayer group page and felt drawn towards the following verse:

2 Kings 20:5 – Go back and tell Hezekiah, the ruler of my people, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will heal you. On the third day from now you will go up to the temple of the Lord.

SPIRITUALLY STRONG

Make me spiritually strong as I formulate my song of praise to you Father, let me find my inner David as I fight my Goliath, give me the strength to release this load that you never meant me to carry, let me hear the words you tell me, help me carry everything to God in prayer, let me know you’re there. feel your heartbeat, feel your love surround me, feel the power of the Spirit washing over me, free me from depression and oppression, God who came to set the prisoner free, I gladly claim that freedom, I proclaim that I am a citizen of your heavenly Kingdom, redeemed and forgiven, my sins forgotten, left at the foot of the Cross with all the other sin and dross, no longer at a loss, I am a warrior, prayer my weapon of choice, sword of the Spirit in my hand I stand triumphant, God who started a good work in me will see it through to completion, my daily decision, to serve the risen Lord, to claim his healing and to constantly receive this feeling of joy everlasting.

Leave a Reply

