In my old world I was dying but now I am living

  • 2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here!
  • Matthew 6:13 – And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from the evil one.’             
  • 1 Corinthians 10:13 – No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

 From old to new, we are becoming transformed and as such we need to focus on our new nature and less on the old nature.  For me this is quite pertinent when things get tough in my life.  I am learning to reach out to Christian friends and to God for support rather than falling back in to old patterns of behaviour.  The enemy will use these tough times to taunt us and try and tempt us to fall back into the old patterns and it is important for me that I recognise this and can pray for God to protect me from this.

FOCUS

My focus is on building the new not fighting the old, that was then, this is now, consider this, in my old world I was dying but now I am living, giving my heart to Jesus was the best thing I could do so now when the going gets tough I don’t give up, I focus on my Saviour, I keep my eyes on his face, I think of his amazing grace, I praise throughout the storm, praise him for promises kept, like he’s never left me, never abandoned me, he still provides for me and he will not let me be tempted beyond what I can bear, he won’t leave me there in that room with the blades, he made that clear when he saw my tears and spoke so softly in my ear, the devil may try to bring me down but my praise drowns out the sound of his whining, my praise driving him away and as I pray he may as well get the message, this princess is not forgetting that she is a child of God, no matter how hard the enemy tries his lies are falling on deaf ears, God’s perfect love has cast out my fears, I am a child of God, transformed from glory into glory, nothing the enemy does can take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

