The tragedy is my identity was in my sin and not in my Saviour

We are free from condemnation – we are free of the shame and guilt of our past, once we give our lives to Jesus there is no more guilt.  When I look back at my life and how I felt God could never love me I see now that I was so wrong.  God never stopped loving me but because I didn’t realise that he loved me I lived in a shame filled void until that day when I finally gave my life to him.  I feel like I owe Jesus so much because he has forgiven so much in me and I praise him constantly for his love and forgiveness.  As I grow in him I am beginning to see his nature and I get why he never gave up on me, because his love is unstoppable and unchangeable, his love is perfect, oh to reflect that love to others in some small way.

Romans 8:1 – Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,

Romans 8:37 – No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us

FREE FROM CONDEMNATION

I am free from all condemnation, restored into something amazing, I was never created to live in shame, I was never unworthy, it’s just that the enemy thrived on telling me that I was guilty, I carried the guilt like a dead weight, depressed and ashamed, the tragedy is that my identity was in my sin and not in my Saviour, I thought I had fallen out of favour with God, no longer loved because of my messed up lifestyle, unlovable, unforgiven, I possessed a poor self-image due to my perception that I lived in a world devoid of unconditional love, God was absent to my mind, I mistakenly thought he had forsaken me, could never welcome me back because of my identity and then he reached out to me, my sin exposed not to shame me but to change me, to save me from deception, an expression of his devotion to me, he had never forgotten me, never left my side, I had been blind but in that instant when God opened my eyes everything changed and has never been the same again, richer now because I am content, a contentment only felt by those whose sins have been dealt with by God, whose shame has been defeated, whose life has been restored and the more that God restores to you the greater the praise on your lips, the tighter the grip the enemy had on you the greater the gift that God has given to you, I used to say I’m not enough but now I say I am more than a conqueror through him who loves me, I am saved and I am free.

Leave a Reply

