Double portions begging to be claimed

Sometimes God asks us to do things that seem tough or difficult or a bit out of left field.  In my reading today I was thinking about Ananias who was asked to go to meet Saul and to lay hands on him.  How random that must have seemed after all the persecution coming from Saul, yet Ananias went. It’s interesting though that he did question God first, it shows that God recognises and accepts our human frailties and gives us space to come to terms with his calling on our lives without reproach.

2 Corinthians 12:9 – But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

HE MAKES A WAY

It has been said that God gives the hardest battles to his strongest soldiers, sometimes I don’t feel that strong but you know there’s part of me that knows my weakness is perfected in his strength, you need to get on God’s wavelength to understand the plans he has, they are no ordinary plans, you could not predict the stuff he might ask you to do, but you do know he will remove all the mountains and make a way in the wilderness if he’s asked you to do it, I guess he’s asking us to show some faith, to step out and step up, to claim the cup that overflows with blessings, double portions begging to be claimed when we step out in Jesus name, and sometimes that small voice of doubt rises and in private I might say God why me, what can I give to this situation, surely you’ve someone a little less broken, someone more experienced, more holy, more suited, but God, well his choice cannot be disputed he sees when we’re rooted in his love, absorbed in his word, stirred up and ready to serve, he sees our hearts and knows our minds we have no fear of condemnation as we step out in faith and obey him.

Leave a comment