Push the boundaries a little bit harder

Who is God to you.  It’s interesting to read who God says he is and I love this passage in Exodus:

 Exodus 34:6-7 – And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, ‘The Lord, the Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness,  maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin.

We are told that we are to be transformed into God’s image, how much more could we achieve for him if we became more like him.  If we were more compassionate and gracious, if we could put a lid on our anger, if we could ooze love from every pore in our bodies, and if we were as quick to forgive others as we expect God to forgive us.  I can see how people displaying these attributes can act as a magnet for God, it’s what I want to achieve for myself so that I can stand in front of God with my head held high knowing that I have done everything I can to serve him.

USE ME

I want to know God more, I want an intimate relationship simply on the basis of what I’ve already seen, I want more, I have received but a fraction of all he has for me, I am beginning to see that I have literally scraped the tip of the iceberg and it would be absurd of me to stop seeking more, I opened the door to my heart and that was just the start, my heart aches to see all that he has for me, on that day in eternity when he judges me I don’t want to be standing there wishing that I had done more, wishing that I had opened the door just a little bit wider and pushed the boundaries a little bit harder, I don’t want to feel like I let him down, that my crown wasn’t earned in the way it could have been, I want it to be seen that I gave it my all, I gave everything for him like he did for me, that through my belief I shined that little bit brighter, attracting attention from those that I meet, my enthusiasm rubbing off on their lives, my love for you God impossible to hide, let it be said that I tried in every way to mirror your behaviour that I showed compassion and grace, that I was slow to anger and abounding in love, forgiving and faithful, fully inclusive, that I gave my life wholly to you, God I want all who see me to see you, all who hear me to hear you and for all who know me to know you, work through me I pray, may our relationship grow, may your Spirit work in me and may I be instrumental in helping others to become free.

Leave a Reply

