We are not subject to sacrificial rituals

I have finally completed reading the Old Testament in my 90 day Bible challenge.  I feel almost a lightness now knowing that I am back to the familiar and easier to understand New Testament.  On reflection though I will need to read the Old Testament again.  I have learnt so much from it but equally am sure that a lot has passed me by.  I suppose in summary I would say I am so grateful that God sent Jesus and through Jesus dying on the cross we have direct access to God.  I am so thankful that I know God as a loving, forgiving and caring God because to be honest at times I have struggled with the concept of the Old Testament God of wrath and anger.  It does though remind me of how immense God is and how I should revere and honour him always.  There’s a song that says “when did I forget that he’s the King of the World” and I think sometimes it’s too easy to forget quite how “Big” our God is.

1 Peter 2:9 – But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

KING OF THE WORLD

King of the World, creator of the Universe, Alpha and Omega, how immense are your ways oh God, how perfect your plans, how blessed are we to have direct access to the Lord God Almighty, how privileged that we can carry everything to you in prayer, not subject to sacrificial rituals but as individuals we approach you with our trials and tribulations, our supplications, we come to you in person as we ask in certainty for your mercy to be shown to us, we are indeed the chosen generation, God’s very own possession no messing, we have no need for priests to intercede for we are indeed a royal priesthood, a holy nation, we have been shown salvation because of God’s son, we have been given the victory because of his sacrifice, given life for all eternity because God declared that it would be.

Leave a Reply

