God put a great big CROSS in my box

God elected us – chose us, that was the theme of our evening worship yesterday and it is still a blessing to me every time I think about how God chose me.  We are just average people living average lives and then God pops up because we are on his list, we have been chosen and he calls us to follow.  What a privilege but also a responsibility.  I was looking at a painting by a Christian artist on Saturday and it was a stairway from heaven of water (living water) and the artist was saying that most Christians stay at the bottom of the staircase, still getting wet from the water but not venturing closer to God.  However God wants us to seek him and we can get closer if we take first one, then another and yet another step of faith.  He chose us so in my mind there is no way we should shy away from seeking him with all our heart, mind and soul. 

1 Peter 2:9 – But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

CHOSEN

Part of a chosen generation, God put me in this situation, strategically orchestrating my steps since I chose to say yes, overlooked by others but handpicked by God, privileged to be valuable to my Saviour, confident in my labour, beloved child of God, anointed and appointed, elected by God, like if God had to tick polling cards he put a great big CROSS in my box, the cross meant that I was forgiven, I was chosen, I was part of God’s holy nation and the CROSS signifies that I too have died to the old and have risen with the new, part of God’s elected crew, ready to do his will, ready to be still and hear his voice, to jump up in worship and to rejoice, ready to serve, ready to follow, to give God unique control over all my tomorrows.

Leave a Reply

