What good am I if I cannot distinguish Satan’s lies from God’s truth?

I was reading the story of Joseph this morning and it came to mind that it could have been such a different story had he not been “strong and courageous”.  This is a recurring theme for me at the moment probably to do with some of the challenging stuff I am reading and watching, but also I feel probably a natural progression in my walk with Jesus.  If Joseph had not been courageous in speaking out in prison or in interpreting Pharaohs dream or even as a young boy speaking out to his brothers he may never have found himself in the position he did where he was able to carry out God’s will from a position of authority.  I also read the following in Joshua 1:6-9

  • Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them. “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

So it’s not just about having strength and courage but also to be obedient which means knowing God’s word, or how else can we be obedient to it, meditating on it, thinking it through and then we will be prosperous and successful.  And I don’t red that prosperous as a financial prosperity but being prosperous in our gifts from God, from receiving his love and blessing in every aspect of our lives.

HOLD ON TIGHT

Be bold, be strong, hold on tight cos it’s going to be a bit of a ride but God never lied, when he said, be strong, be courageous he was talking to us, and in a way that paves the way for us to see that he never said it would be easy, courage a necessity to fight the enemy, boldness required to spread the fire that burns inside of me, but all will be in vain if I fail to know God’s word, if I haven’t heard of all his promises, haven’t understood all that Jesus did, what good am I if I cannot distinguish Satan’s lies from God’s truth, or fail to hear the still small voice of God within because I am not tuned in to all he has to say, see like a sheep I need to know my shepherd’s voice, I have a choice and I choose to run with God, co-labour in his workplace, I choose to seek to see his face and I long to be strong for God, I long to spread the joy that I enjoy, I yearn to speak out loud , to lift black clouds, see people healed, for God’s love and grace in me should never be concealed.

Leave a Reply

