Provide the obedience and God provides the power

I still get blown away by this passage which I read this morning.  Jesus prays for us.  Not only that it got me to thinking about how many people pray for us without us even knowing it.  Some praying specifically for us naming us by name and others including us in their prayers when they may speak about situations that we find ourselves in.  For example someone may pray,Father help all those battling addiction – that could be you?  They could ask for protection for church leaders – that could be you? You know we are so blessed by prayers, we may never know how many prayers surround us but we do know that the Lord Jesus Christ himself prays for us and it can’t get much better than that!

Jesus prays for all believers – John 17:20-26

‘My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.  I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one – I in them and you in me – so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. ‘Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world. ‘Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.’

DRIVEN

Driven by eternity, provide the obedience and God provides the power, obey and he’ll make clear the way, pray faithfully, believe, intercede for those who are separate from God, reach out, love unconditionally, God loves us in our diversity yet he desires unity, take time to see the wonder and unique beauty in your fellow man, entrust yourself unreservedly to God’s hands, complete confidence in his provision, God loves us immensely, Jesus himself prays for us to be one with God, interceding for us that our faith will not fail and God’s love never fails, he offers peace, joy, forgiveness, all this and more, he is faithful he will establish you and guard you from the evil one, he sanctifies us, he yearns for us to be with him and see his glory  he wants to rescue us from Purgatory he’s never stopped working,  never stopped praying for us, he is relentless in his prayers for all who believe or who will believe, he never leaves us nor forsakes us, Jesus himself is praying for us asking his Father to have mercy, to protect us from the evils of this world and bring us victorious to the joys of the next, trust him, trust in the security of God’s love, we may have trouble in this world but take heart, God has overcome this world, give me the words to express my love to you God yet also give me the words to express how great your love is for others so that no one on this earth will suffer.

Leave a Reply

