It doesn’t have to be a loud booming voice

 I had a great walk yesterday, about 6 miles, me and the dog and of course God.  I find that sometimes walking and praying is a great way to hear from God and I always spend some of the time listening to worship music and singing quite loudly (hoping that no one comes around the next corner while I’m in full flow!)

So yesterday I had been praying and then put on some music, I was in a small wooded area and I just felt God telling me to turn off the music and stand still.  I looked up at the beautiful blue sky praising God in silence when a bird of prey came out of nowhere and flew into the distance.  Now I’m not kidding myself that it was an eagle but God’s words came to me, a verse that is written in my journal on the page dedicated to my future – Isaiah 40:31 – Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.

God talks to us and reminds us of his promises in a myriad of ways but that was kind of special to me.  There are other verses about eagles that mean a lot to me too that just go to illustrate God’s immense love for us.

  • Deuteronomy 32:11 – Like an eagle that stirs up its nest, that hovers over its young, He spread His wings and caught them, He carried them on His pinions.
  • Psalm 103:5 – Who satisfies your years with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle.
  • Exodus 19:4 – You yourselves have seen what I did to the Egyptians, and how I bore you on eagles’ wings, and brought you to Myself.

HELLO GOD

Have you ever heard from God?  It doesn’t have to be a loud booming voice or even a tiny whisper, it may be a picture or a verse, a thought in my head that says listen to me, or something that speaks out of his wonderful creation that causes elation cos I know it’s for me, he hears me, he loves me, my prayers do not go up unanswered they are not scattered about in the universe, they are heard and God’s word tells us that he hears our cries and we shall rise up like eagles as he sustains us, he watches over our progress as a mother hovers over its young, he spreads his wings around us and carries us until we are ready, when we hear his voice and make a choice to seize the moment and take a leap of faith just see how he holds you up on eagles’ wings and brings you to himself.

Leave a Reply

