Just goes to show how much God rates us.

Having embarked on my 90 day bible reading challenge and having read a lot of the Old Testament filled with stories of sacrifice for sins, of God’s people going in a cycle of obedience and repentance followed by disobedience then repentance again this passage from Hebrews struck me today in a much more meaningful way.

Hebrews 10:12-18 – But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool.  For by one sacrifice he has made perfect for ever those who are being made holy. The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says: ‘This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord.  I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds’ Then he adds: ‘Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.’ And where these have been forgiven, sacrifice for sin is no longer necessary.

I know that I have turned from my sinful lifestyle, but I still sin at times, let’s face it we all do.  However I don’t have to keep making sacrifices, I don’t have to start from scratch all over again because God has already forgiven me.  He knows my heart, he knows I am doing my best and he is changing me too.  So yes I will say sorry to God when I mess up and ask him to help me move away from any sinful behaviour but I do not lose hope, I do not lose faith and I look to God and his word for more inspiration and guidance.

 SACRIFICIAL

High priest, sacrificial lamb, he paid the ultimate price freeing us from the cycle of sacrifice, you see Jesus saw the need for us to have freedom, Jesus was prepared to die himself so we could claim our place in God’s awesome Kingdom, Jesus took my sins gladly and like a loving Daddy he couldn’t bear to see me fail, he took the nails for me, he didn’t answer back when they were mocking cos that would have been crossing their line, giving credence to their minds which sought to break him down, force a reaction perhaps they wanted to gain traction for their cause but by his silence, his inaction he gave them no satisfaction, God could have taken direct action to take him from that cross to prevent his loss of life but see that’s why God didn’t intervene, picture the scene, Jesus hanging on the cross and then what? God shrouds him in a cloud and sets him free and the enemy may be stumped for a while but then he’d smile and see that all of us would never be free because Jesus had left town, praise God that’s not how it went down, we all know that the King of the Jews wearing a thorn weaved crown saw it through, he died for you, he died for me, at that point he claimed full victory over the enemy, by that sacrifice we have been made holy, all have the offer of salvation, redemption from our sinful behaviour, all sins forgotten and forgiven, recognition of our fallen status which just goes to show how much God rates us.

Leave a Reply

