Jesus responds emphatically “over my dead body”

Last night was the first evening of a locally run Alpha course that my partner and a close friend had agreed to attend.  I say “agreed” because for my partner it was almost like pulling teeth, trying to get her to attend and she was, up until a couple of days ago, not very keen.  Agreeing that she would attend the first one and that was all (unless she felt she wanted to do more) I set about praying intentionally for her to be so absorbed in it and feel the power of the Holy Spirit that she would keep going.  I know a group of ladies from my church have also been praying intentionally so why was I so blown away when she came home and said that she was going again next week!?  God answers prayer, he really does and I know this is the start of a journey and more than likely a roller coaster but I praise God that she is now in the right place to hear his word.  Whatever happens from this I know that seeds have been sown.

Last night as she was out I was reading Psalm 63 and incorporated it into my ongoing prayer for her and all the others attending the course:

  • Psalm 63:1-5 – You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you in a dry and parched land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live and in your name I will lift up my hands. I will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

 

SOWING THE SEEDS

I tried to warn you but you said “don’t judge me”, I tried to tell you about Jesus but you said “he don’t love me”, I tried to make you go to church but that didn’t work and then I got down on my knees and God heard me, “I can do immeasurably more than all you ask or imagine”, stunned I remembered I’d forgotten to ask and as I grasped the love that surrounded me I prayed for you, “may you seek him with all your heart, may you thirst for his living water, may you become a daughter of the living God, feel the love that is better than life, be fully satisfied in Christ” for it is by grace that we are saved and don’t be fazed this is a choice, each of us an innkeeper deciding if we have room for Jesus, room for the man who ate with sinners, the man who is not afraid to get his hands dirty, to be seen with those despised and rejected, to reach into brokenness where he sees beauty, he blew me away with his love and compassion and if you want to you can cash in on his immense love and grace, don’t say that you’ve blown God’s plan for your life I have news, you are not that powerful your life may have been colourful but when the devil turns round and says you are his Jesus responds emphatically “over my dead body”.

Leave a Reply

