Confusion surrounded his identity, who was he?

In the Gospels Jesus asks the disciples about what people are saying about him, who do people say I am?  That got me to thinking today, who do I say Jesus is.  There are probably not enough statements to express the answer but I have done my best below.

  • Matthew 16:13-16 – ‘Who do people say the Son of Man is?’ They replied, ‘Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the prophets.’ ‘But what about you?’ he asked. ‘Who do you say I am?’  Simon Peter answered, ‘You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.’
  • Isaiah 9:6 – For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

WHO IS THIS JESUS?

You ask who is this Jesus? What is he to me?  Even when he walked the earth confusion surrounded his identity, who was he?  Some said John the Baptist, others said Elijah or maybe Jeremiah but Peter said Messiah (the promised and expected deliverer) you see the scripture was clear and here is the child promised to us by Isaiah, Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace and I will never cease in expressing my passion about the man who came to give me life, the man of sacrifice, Jesus, well how can you explain the one who is, who was and is to come, the one who is in us, bread of life, the true vine, he’s the way and the truth, the truth and the life, light of the world, the good shepherd who never lets us go, the resurrection and the life, my healer, my comforter, my Father, my brother, close to the broken hearted he saves the crushed in spirit, in this world but not of it, my friend, shield and defender who loves each guilty offender, this Jesus who started the good work in me has the power to set us all free, he is living water, my anchor in the storm, lover of my soul, the one who made me whole, he carries me, sustains me, he’s for me when the world is against me, he believes in me, stop, pause rewind, Jesus believe in me, he will not fail me, he provides for me, blesses me, gives me rest, strengthens me and answers me and that’s enough for me!  I will walk by faith even when I cannot see, Jesus over everything, he’s everything to me.

Leave a Reply

