Talk about amazing grace

I was introduced to a new song yesterday “Mercy Saw Me”.  What an amazing song it really moved me to tears the first time I listened, some of the lyrics spoke so closely to my heart.

In particular this lyric:

“Mercy saw me through the storm, not what I was but what I could be, that’s how mercy saw me”.

When God chose us he saw what we could be and not what we were, he looked through the sin and saw what he had created, and he loved us. Talk about “amazing grace”.

  • Psalm 51:1-2 – Have mercy on me, O God according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.
  • Psalm 103:8 – The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love
  • Micah 7:18 – Who is a God like you who pardons sin and forgives the transgression
    of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy.
  • Romans 12:1 – Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.

TALK ABOUT

Talk about amazing grace cos when you looked at my battle scarred face you didn’t see the cause of the scars, you didn’t care, you saw the future, you saw all that I could be and by grace you saved me, full of sin, full of shame yet you still called my name, you saw past the broken vessel, yeah sure you knew that I was flawed but you adored me none the less, OK so I was a mess but you saw beauty from that brokenness, your sacrifice for the ashes of my life, you took this messed up body and set it free and God I cannot see a way to thank you enough for the love, for the forgiveness, for giving me a chance when I had screwed up so many times, for giving me time to come to see that all I needed was faith and I would be free of the past, free of the hold that Satan had over me, I rejoice that you helped me see a new way, by grace I am claimed, through your mercy I am saved, because of your unfailing love I am redeemed, it seems that through the storm you were watching me waiting for me to see that you offered a better life and God I offer my body as a living sacrifice, I dance, I sing, I worship my God who pardons sins so easily, who delights to show mercy, who is compassionate, slow to anger, unfailing in love, thank you for seeing the potential in me, not who I was but what I could be, not what I did but what I will do, not loving myself but now loving you.

Leave a Reply

