They think you are made up, a made up God

 Sometimes it’s hard to vocalise to non-Christians how great God is or how much he means to me.  Often I don’t say what I really feel, not sure why but I know that if I ask God he will give me the words.  Sometimes I think I hold back because I have been shot down in the past.  I suppose when I first became a Christian I wasn’t as confident in my faith or the Word and would say things which I couldn’t really backup (just shows how important it is to know the Word!)  But I also know there have been times when I have been desperate for the other person to get what I am saying but I see now that’s Gods role not mine.  So God will give the words and they may well not be what I expect but I can trust that they will be the right words for that moment in time.

  • Isaiah 51:16 – I will give you the words I want you to say. I will cover you with my hands and protect you. I made the heavens and the earth, and I say to Jerusalem, ‘You are my people.'” 
  • Luke 12:12 – or the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what you should say.”
  • Luke 21:15 – For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict

DO YOU GET IT?

God you are awesome, just wanted to say that.  God you know what, some people just don’t get you, they don’t see how great you are, like some don’t even think you are, they think you are made up, a made up God, now that must be hard, people denying your existence, taking the path of least resistance, keeping a healthy distance from anything remotely Christian because of all this suspicion, OK so why be suspicious of those who believe in Jesus, just ask us, ask us what it is that makes us so in love with the Son of God, but what I find even harder is those who believe but perceive that they’re going to heaven because they say yes Jesus is risen but I don’t need to change my position, so I’ll carry on sinning, like isn’t that just the perfect win/win, it’s not like that, sin is sin, and OK so I’ll always be a sinner, but it’s about the inner me, what I am striving to be, how I’m sorry for what I do, how I try to turn it over to you and put it right, to walk my life in the light and OK so sometimes I fail to come up with the goods, sometimes my mood is not what it should be and I won’t be perfect until I reach Glory but you know I sure want to be trying and sometimes we’re called to deny ourselves and pick up our Cross and I can’t gloss over the fact sometimes it’s scary but think of Mary, we are called to obedience and the rewards are immediate and yet everlasting too, so Father I come to you and ask for your help, you know how hard it is to speak to those whose ears are closed and their hearts are like stone, but I really need to know how can I make you known to them, how can I talk of your amazing love, the friendship that we have without them making out I’m mad, without them saying that’s OK for you but God didn’t mean that for me or God’s not real and really I’m OK so long as you don’t talk all day about your Father up in heaven, I’m not messing God, it’s hard, it’s hard to know the right words, but I have learnt that you are the ultimate redeemer who longs for all your children to experience freedom, so let me walk the walk for you, and trust the talking part will come from you.

Leave a Reply

