Flick the switch, Christian on, flick the switch, Christian off

As Christians we are called to stand out and not blend in and it reminded me of the importance of just being myself at all times.  I am a Christian at church, at home, at work and at play.  It’s so important not to change how I talk or behave to fit in.  Sometimes it can be hard, at work I occasionally get a stroppy customer and I am reminded that I have asked God to give me patience and self-control. Sometimes amongst non-Christian friends I find things that are said difficult and yet I should not stay silent if I feel it is right to speak out.  At home it’s tempting to be lazy and not do the chores, but that’s not kind or thoughtful towards my partner so at times I have to kick myself into action.  I suppose it’s an attitude of what would Jesus do or what would Jesus say in this situation.  But then I want it to be so much more, I want to be “colourful” for God, for people to see my life and the way I live and see God’s love shining through me.

Romans 12:2 – Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

FLICK THE SWITCH

Flick the switch, Christian on, flick the switch, Christian off, sometimes it’s tough to keep my light shining consistently with all the messages bombarding me, but you see I want to be permanently illuminated to show others that I am intoxicated by the love of Jesus, I don’t want to feel frustration when I fail to say what I want to say, I don’t need to be inhibited by fear of judgement from my peers, you see Jesus died to release me from all the fears and why should I feel apprehension that at the mention of the name of Jesus friends will mock or laugh or tease, am I not at ease with my beliefs, am I not released from the former self, Jesus himself suffered mocking and jeering, so clearly he understands what I am feeling and I want to stand out like a rainbow, multi coloured rays of love and hope radiating from my being as I praise and worship God through my style of living, giving others something to question, a expression of the change in me, a reflection of God’s love for me a suggestion that his love is freely given to anyone who’ll stop and listen, so Father let me shine, take this light of mine and set if free, ensure the switch stays on permanently.

Leave a Reply

