My lifestyle reveals my life source..

I seem to have been noticing a lot of posts or quotes relating to obedience lately, both in the Bible and in other books or from some of the Christians I follow on Social Media.  Strikes me that obedience is the key, and it saddens me that many Christians continue to sin or disobey God.  Now don’t get me wrong I am not casting the first stone, I know we are all sinners but what I am referring to is Christians who don’t turn away from habitual sin or who interpret the Bible in such a way that they feel their lifestyle is acceptable despite it being in direct conflict with biblical teaching.  I saw a quote from William Booth which I thought summed it up perfectly.

“The chief danger of the 20th century will be religion without the Holy Spirit, Christianity without Christ, forgiveness without repentance, salvation without regeneration, politics without God, and heaven without hell.”

We are called to obedience, we may not know the outcome of God’s plans but we have to trust him if we are to move forward with God and be effective for him.

  • John 13:7 – Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”
  • Corinthians 2:10:5 – We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ

OBEDIENCE

I want to walk in obedience, I see that through obedience all things can change, like the great exchange, Jesus took our failures and in obeying his Father died on the cross, exchanging our sins for righteousness, taking our mess and putting it right, so being a Christian that’s not all about how high I jump in praise but how straight I walk in obedience, obedience to God an expression of my love for him, I walk by faith not by sight and by God’s might my obedience unlocks understanding and as I’m standing on God’s word obeying his commands he releases an overflow of abundant blessings into my life, yes I walk the narrow path, challenged to draw on my faith at times, challenged to pick what’s good and right, taking captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ, and I listen for God’s voice he is the one who keeps me on track, I no longer look back, I keep my eyes firmly forward on the Lord who died to save me, knowing my lifestyle reveals my life source, knowing that obedience to the Lord is not much to ask, he prepares me for each and every task, he never leaves me, he’s always beside me, I want to walk in obedience and I ask God to guide me.

Leave a Reply

